Home » Other » Marketplace » Moving to contracting (PL/SQL developer)
Moving to contracting [message #466720] Tue, 20 July 2010 14:33 Go to next message
lalag
Hi,
I am an Oracle developer in the UK. I have been developing in PL/SQL using Oracle 9i for over 3 years now. This is something I thourougly enjoy and I would like to give it a go as a contractor (I am in a permanent position at the moment). I have applied for jobs on line, but I would like to know other contractors' opinion on the current market situation in the UK and what is required to be a suitable contractor. I am hard working and able to find solutions when presented with a problem.
Can you please advise or address me towards any site that can give me an idea on whether it is something I am in a position to do?
Thanks
Re: Moving to contracting [message #466743 is a reply to message #466720] Tue, 20 July 2010 20:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rahulvb
1/ WHY you want become a contractor ?
2/ What is the thought process behind it ?

Money is one I know for sure. what are others reasons ???
[EDITED by DJM: delete useless quote]

[Updated on: Wed, 21 July 2010 01:23] by Moderator

Report message to a moderator

Re: Moving to contracting [message #466775 is a reply to message #466743] Wed, 21 July 2010 01:38 Go to previous message
djmartin
Account Moderator
I have been contracting for over 30 years. During that time I have been without contract for 6 months twice. Do not even think about contracting unless you can cope with the situation of having no money coming in to your bank account and you are, at least, 12 months ahead in your mortgage(s). Also discuss this with your other half, can they handle that you are out of work?