Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Creating a trigger on SYS.AUD$ or moving SYS.AUD$ or some other way of...
Creating a trigger on SYS.AUD$ or moving SYS.AUD$ or some other way of... [message #51684] Thu, 06 June 2002 11:04 Go to next message
Teo Laitinen
Hi!

I'm a computer science student working on the constructional section of my master's thesis. As a part of that I'd like to audit the SELECT-statements (maybe even on column-level) and start a stored procedure if a new entry is inserted in the audit trail. I'm using Oracle 9i Personal Edition.

So, what I thought I needed was a trigger that would have started a procedure after a new audit entry on some SELECT statement was inserted in SYS.AUD$. However the database refuses to allow a trigger created on SYS.AUD$, telling me I shouldn't create triggers on objects owned by SYS. For other INSERT, DELETE and UPDATE statements this is no problem, because I can direct auditing to any table I wish. For SELECT statements I seem to have to use either SYS.AUD$ or the Fine Grained Auditing equivalent for column level auditing. For both the database refuses to allow triggers.

I've thought of moving AUD$ out of SYSTEM tablespace, because on some newsgroup it was said this can be done. However Oracle documentation says this is not supported.

Does anyone have any ideas how I could fire a trigger every time an entry is made to the audit trail table owned by SYS or any opinion on if I could copy audit entries to some other table by a procedure running in the background (can this be done?) and how this would effect the database? Or is it possible to move AUD$?

Thanks in advance,

Teo Laitinen

Computer science student
Department of Computer Science and Information Systems
University of Jyväskylä
Finland
Re: Creating a trigger on SYS.AUD$ or moving SYS.AUD$ or some other way of... [message #51685 is a reply to message #51684] Thu, 06 June 2002 12:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran