Home » RDBMS Server » Security » connect/password question
connect/password question [message #9736] Tue, 02 December 2003 14:16 Go to next message
Jae Bosou
I have a SQL script that contains a hard coded user/password connection. example:
------------------------------------
connect user/password;
drop view myview;
commit;
create view myview
blah.. blah.. blah...
commit;
spool myview.lis
select .... blah..blah..
spool off;
exit;
--------------------------------------------
The problem with this SQL, it requires hard coded user and password every time I run (not secure).

How do I avoid this and create a simple PL/SQL function or procedure? I am a novice PL/SQL. If you can give a step-by-step example or an example link on the net, I really appreciate it.
Re: connect/password question [message #9738 is a reply to message #9736] Tue, 02 December 2003 14:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sverch
I don't know why you use a script to connect, but
when you drop something including view you do not have to commit because Oracle commits on all DDL commands and Drop is one of them.
Insted of CREATE VIEW use CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW - this way you do not have to DROP your view.
Again, you do not have to COMMIT after CREATE.
And the main thing is - why use a script to create view?
You can CREATE OR REPLACE VIEW once and this view will be automatically refreshed every time when source data changes and you SELECT from the view.
Re: connect/password question [message #9745 is a reply to message #9738] Tue, 02 December 2003 15:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jae Bosou
....forget about this creating views script and commit stuff... it's only an example.
What I want to know is how do I create a function/procedure without entering HARD-CODED USERNAME/PASSWORD. In another word ... changing from plain SQLplus script to PL/SQL written in function/prodecure.